Funfetti Candles

With holidays coming right around the corner and being a college student, I am definitely on a budget. I want to get my family and friends something personal and meaningful but also something affordable. When I stumbled upon the Funfetti candles in a mason jar, I immediately knew this was the perfect gift for the holiday season.

Screen Shot 2015-10-24 at 9.33.12 PM

Photo By: @bethcakeblog

Supplies

  • Mason Jars
  • Soy Wax Flakes
  • Scents
  • Pre-waxed Wicks
  • Metal measuring cup with spout
  • Corn Syrup
  • Rainbow Sprinkles
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Paintbrush
  • Pencil
  • Tape

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.48.32 PM

I went to the local craft store, to get all of my supplies. This trip was a little expensive, but the good thing about it is that I can use all of the supplies for future projects. Beth Cakes blog did have a disclaimer that this project had not been successful for many people and Beth Cakes was working on finding different ways to make this project a success. I decided to give it a try just to see if I could get a successful result. First, I hot glued the wicks to the inside the bottom of the mason jar. I then mixed 1 1/2 tablespoons of corn syrup and two tablespoons of water together in a bowl. I then used a paintbrush to coat the inside of the mason jar with the corn syrup water mix. Immediately after, I coated the jar with rainbow sprinkles and roll it around until the jar was a colorful rainbow. To make sure the wick stayed straight and end the center of the jar, I layed a marker across the top of the jar and taped the wick to the marker. Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 9.08.38 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.50.18 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.50.57 PM

Next, I began to boil a pot halfway full of water. As the water was beginning to boil I measured out three cups of the soy wax flakes to put into the metal measuring cup with a spout. When the water was almost to a boil I set the metal cup into the boiling water to start melting the wax. As the wax started to melt I added a few drops of my favorite scent, Vanilla. I then began to stir the wax mixture together. When the wax was completely melted I then poured the wax mixture into the mason jar. After letting the jar cool for a few minutes, I set the jar in the freezer for three to four hours, so the wax would set.  The next morning, the wax was set and I cut wick to an appropriate length.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.49.21 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.49.02 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 8.48.44 PM

One issue that encountered during the making of this candle was that when I poured the wax into the jar, all of the sprinkles settled to the bottom of the jar. Even though, the candle didn’t turn our exactly like the picture, I am extremely happy with the way my candle turned out.   I can’t wait to present these candles to all of my family and friends. I can add their favorite scents and make it a personal experience for them. Make sure to check out my next blog, where I get into the halloWINE spirit!

– XOXO, Taylor

Leave a Reply

